Akalis burn effigy of Bhagwant Mann

Members of Akali Dal burn effigies of Kejriwal and Bhagwant Mann at various places of Punjab.
Members of Youth Akali Dal (YAD) carried out a protest against Delhi Chief Minister and Aam Aadmi Party’s (AAP) national convener Arvind Kejriwal .
The members were demanding the suspension of Sangrur MP Bhagwant Mann who recently misbehaved with some media persons at Bassi Pathana during a rally. The protesting workers burnt the effigy of Kejriwal.
YAD president Harmanpreet Singh Prince said: “The AAP has been exposed and the people are now in a mood to punish Kejriwal and his stooges in Punjab.”
He also alleged that the party’s Punjab affairs in-charge Durgesh Pathak and Sanjay Singh are indulged in corruption and other illegal activities.
SAD and BJP councillors, who stayed away from the last protest against AAP, joined this time.
The last protest was attended by some loyalists of mayor Kulwant Singh.
The separate protests carried out by the SAD workers also highlighted factionalism in the party.

Activists of SAD, under the leadership of district president Teja Singh Kamalpur burnt effigies of AAP supremo Arvind Kejriwal, Sangrur MP Bhagwant Mann and sacked Delhi minister Sandeep Kumar at the Traffic Light chowk here.
Before burning the effigies, they also beat them with chappals and shoes. Earlier, the SAD workers gathered at Gurdwara Jyoti Sarup here and took out a protest march through the main market, raising slogans against the AAP leaders.
Kamalpur said they had burnt the effigy of Bhagwant Mann for his “beggar” remark for blue card holders, Sandeep Kumar’s effigy was burnt for his alleged involvement in a sex scandal and Kejriwal’s effigy was set ablaze for his failure to check activities and statements of such leaders of his party.
AAP and its leaders had nothing to do with the common people as they were misleading them for their personal gains.
They were also hurting sentiments of the people with their acts and statements, Kamalpur added.
Satgur Singh Namol, chairman of Zila Parishad; Ripudaman Singh Dhillon, Sangrur Municipal Council president; Jaswinder Singh Prince, district president of SAD (Urban); Paramjit Kaur Virk, district president of woman wing of the SAD and Gurmeet Singh Johal, district media in charge of the SAD, took part in the protest march.

Posted in: Punjab